Pakistan team arrives in UAE for Sri Lanka series

The Pakistan cricket team, led by Sarfraz Ahmed, arrived in the United Arab Emirates on Sunday for the upcoming Test series against Sri Lanka, DawnNews reported.

The 16-member squad and nine officials travelled to the UAE early Sunday morning via a foreign airline.

The two teams will kick the tournament off with a day-and-night Test match in a two-match series, starting on September 28.

Sri Lanka will also play five one-day internationals and two T20 matches in the Abu Dhabi, Dubai and Sharjah.

A third T20 match will be played at Lahore’s Gaddafi Stadium subject to security clearance.

A day earlier, Pakistan Cricket Board chief selector Inzamam-ul-Haq, revealing the 16-member squad, announced that Wahab Riaz has been added back to the team; whereas Ahmad Shahzad and Mohammad Rizwan have been dropped from the team.

Pakistan team: Sarfraz Ahmed (c), Azhar Ali, Shan Masood, Sami Aslam, Babar Azam, Asad Shafiq, Haris Sohail, Usman Salahuddin, Yasir Shah, Mohammad Asghar, Bilal Asif, Mir Hamza, Mohammad Amir, Hasan Ali, Mohammad Abbas, Wahab