Pakistan scored 338 in 50 overs and aer a huge target 339 to India to win ICC world trophy.

Pakistan are four wickets down after a cracking start to the inning of the high-octane nail-biting Champions Trophy final being played at London’s Oval ground on Sunday.

Pakistan is at 313 runs for the loss of four wickets at the end of the 47th over.

In an effort to hit a boundary to reach the 50 run mark Babar Azam played a mistimed shot straight into the Yuvraj Singh’s hands and departed with 46 runs to his name in the 43rd over.

Shoaib Malik left the field after Kedhar Jadhav caught him playing a mistimed shot over the mid-off in the 40th over.

Fakhar departed for 114 runs, just a couple of balls after 200 came up for Pakistan in the 33rd over. The opener reached his maiden ODI century in style with a four off the 31st over.

In the 23rd over, Babar Azam replaced Azhar (59) who returned to the pavilion after a mix up with Fakhar resulted in a run out on Ashwin’s delivery.

The 128-run opening partnership between Fakhar and Azhar Ali helped bolster green shirts’ overall total.

The opening pair broke two records, one for the best score posted by Pakistani openers against India in an ICC tournament (86 runs) and the best partnership against India in an ICC tournament when 100 came up for Pakistan in the 18th over.

The last instance of Pakistan openers adding more than 100 for the first wicket in two consecutive matches was in 2003.

Pakistan saw back-to-back fifties for Azhar and Fakhar in the 20th over, that yielded 114 runs, as the two showed great form by consistently rotating strike and hitting sporadic boundaries.

The team had a firm grounding with 56 runs on the board off the first 10 overs as the two openers scored from both sides, ramping up the pressure on the Indian side.

Azhar smacked the fist six off the innings off Ashwin in the eighth over after he and Fakhar made themselves at home on the pitch.

The game appeared to have taken a predictable turn when Bumrah seemed to have nicked Fakhar to the keeper in the fourth over, but a replay revealed the bowler had overstepped the crease, and it was ruled a no ball.

Share on FacebookTweet about this on TwitterShare on Google+Email this to someonePrint this page