ICC approves Test Championship, ODI league

ICC chief executive approved Test Championship and One-Day International League at the governing body’s meeting
The cricketing structure is set to change with the International Cricket Council approving Test Championship and One-Day International League, David Richardson, the ICC chief executive, confirmed in Auckland on Friday (October 13) after the governing body’s meeting.

In the Test Championship, the top nine teams will play six series – three at home and three away – and it’ll be put in place after the 2019 World Cup.

The teams will be required to play at least two Tests while it can be expanded to five Tests in a series as well.

The Test Championship,however, won’t include Zimbabwe, Afghanistan and Ireland.

In the ODI league, that’s set to be put in place in 2020-21 cycle, will have 13 teams – the 12 Full Members and the winner of the ICC World Cricket League Championship. The teams will battle it out to earn direct qualifications for the World Cup.

The first ODI league will first have a two-year cycle ahead of the 2023 World Cup.

However, it’ll be changed to a three-year cycle with teams battling out in eight series with a maximum of three ODIs in one series.

More to follow …